Hiking Parfrey’s

November 17, 2008

Every fall my dear friend Lana has hiked Parfrey’s Glen up near Baraboo – and I mean every fall since she was a youngin’.  My girl and I have been fortunate to be included as a part of the family the last few years and this hike has now become tradition for us as well.

It was a gray and cloudy day – this pic wasn’t converted to b&w:

parfreyssm04

We saw our first snow at the end of the hike – and what a hike! – with the early summer floods having destroyed the boardwalk.  My almost-7yo just kept saying “now, this is real hiking Mama!”

Since we do it every year at the same time it is a nice chance to get photos of everyone – I believe the first year we took pics in film, I’ll have to scan them at some point….

Here’s Lana, who is nearly impossible to catch looking “real” in a photo – I almost got it here along with Ms. M. who is 4 this year….parfreyssm01

And E, who is 6 like my girl….parfreyssm02

Ms. M with a cheesy grin…parfreyssm05

I hope they are always such good friends….parfreyssm07

My girl, who will soon be 7….parfreyssm08

Ms B. trying not to get her pic taken….parfreyssm09

And the end of the hike, as it was getting dark, and we still had the return hike to do….parfreyssm001

The kids were troopers hopping rocks to get over the stream in the absence of bridges and the boardwalk- Ms. M ended up with a wet foot but she was relatively uncomplaining about it.  We ate our picnic huddled in the car, but it was still a really joyful afternoon.

2 Responses to “Hiking Parfrey’s”


  1. Looks like a nice hike, cold, but nice. Colorful pics, looks like you captured a lot of emotion!

  2. John Hunter Says:

    Here are my photos of the hike. There were no kids along, so more pictures of the scenery 🙂 http://curiouscat.com/travels/2006/parfreys_glen_wisconsin/


Leave a Reply

